Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

Discuss and give opinions

There is a tendency that some minority languages are on the edge of disappearance. It is argued that whether governments should allocate expenditure to save these languages, while some opponents believe this is a waste of money. Personally, I think that these languages deserve to be preserved.

On one hand, there are several reasons why some people against governments spent money on saving minority languages. Firstly, to make sure more people will be willing to learn these languages, a large amount of money has to be spent on facilities, teaching staffs and propagandizing. This money could be spent on other more urgent livelihood issues such as healthcare and infrastructure. Secondly, it might be of no effect even governments make a lot of effort to saving less-widely spoken languages. The public lack of will to study minority languages for a reason, because it might be impractical for them. Governments are incapable of forcing people to learn if they are not willing to.

On the other hand, despite the above arguments, I believe that governments should not allow these languages to extinct. A language is much more than simply a means of communication, behind the language itself, there is culture, custom and tradition related to it. If a language disappears, a whole way of life will disappear with it which would be a great loss for both country and the whole human society. The cultural diversity is what makes this world more colorful. By spending money on minority language preservation, a vast amount of cultural heritages can be saved in the meantime.

In conclusion, it may save money in the short term if governments allow minority languages to disappear. But in the long term this would have an extremely negative impact on cultural diversity.