The government should increase spending on defence and spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argue by people that more money should be spend in defending the nation against social devices while other says that little allocation should be given to the provision of social amenities. In my opinion, i strongly believe that both of these aspects should be given equal attention, although,more money should be allocated to social benefits. This will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with,government of a country need to make sure there is adequate fund for the security department. As it is their responsibility of securing lives and properties of the resident. For instance, in Nigeria with the insurgent of boko Aran killing people and destroying properties, the security department always beef up there defences by buying sophisticated ammunition to fight them. Also, each state do have money a portion for state security to make sure,there is no arm robbers killing people or a civil war within the community. This is possible by having police force and other neighbourhood law and enforcement agencies to watch and check mate members activities.

Despite this, more money needs to be given to social benefits so that more basic social needs of the community can be met. If the welfare of the community is put into consideration such as making available portable drinking water. Members of the community will not be falling sick constantly. Thus, it will reduce the way they visit the hospital for treatment, hence, this will increase their productivity at work. Furthermore, there should be creation of more job opportunities if there is employment for people, they can afford and meet up with expected standard of living. By so doing, this will also contribute to the economic of the nation in return because workers can pay their taxes. As people can enjoy the social needs provided by the government.

In conclusion, as it is good to spend money on both the defence and the social benefits of a nation, i however, opined that more should be a portion to meet the social needs, as this will prevent illnesses and thus,burst productivity.