Government should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choices. Others argue that it is their choice. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought holds that the authorities should impose regulations about people’s food choices and nutrition; others are of the opinion that people should be free in terms of choosing what they eat. In this essay, I will scrutinize both views before concluding I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why other people acknowledge that the government should enforce laws about their citizens' nutritions and food choices. The key rationale is that by providing these laws, the individual’s overall wellbeing will be improved due to the addressing of health problems related to eating habits. For example, in today’s modern world, everyone, especially the young generation, are used to eating junk food which makes them easily vulnerable to obesity. If the government can prohibit food of this kind, the obesity rate can be reduced. Therefore, in the future, the new generations can be much healthier.

On the other hand, I side with those who say that eating food is a matter of personal choice. Firstly, the aforementioned proposal is an uphill task. Although it can still be executed, it must require a colossal amount of money and effort poured into it so of course it is not feasible in impoverished and developing countries whose budget is often meager. In addition to this, people should be given the leeway to eat whatever they want, provided that this action does not pose any threats to others. Therefore, if the choice of food does not jeopardize any lives or violate laws, it would be unjustifiable for the government to interfere with it.

In conclusion, while there is justification that people’s nutrition and food choices have to be controlled by the government, I would contend that people should be given autonomy regarding what they eat.