Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that authorities should allocate money more to the development of railways rather than roads. In my point of view, I completely disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

First, focusing on improving railways might not bring about the development of the economy as a whole. To be specific, in Vietnam, the probability of making profits in this type of transportation is not very high. With low amount of tickets sold, the government will find it difficult to pay maintainance fees as well as other costs such as employee salaries. In this case, government has to use money in their fiscal budget to maintain the infrastructure of this kind of transportation. Therefore, investment in railways seems to have a few contribution to the development of the country.

Second, instead of railways, government should invest money in road systems to tackle with congestion – one of the most complicated problems in many countries. This is due to the fact that people nowadays have a tendency to use their private vehicles to commute to work or travel, which results in the terrible traffic jams during rush hours. In order to deal with this situation, government has to spend more money expanding and leveraging the quality of roads to meet the increasing number of personal transportation, rather than railways, which are not used for daily travel.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should spend more money on roads rather than railways to provide its citizens better and safer transportation system.