As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that besides generating profits, enterprises should also make contribution to the public. In my opinion, while making money is the top priority for each company, I agree that they should conduct their business in socially responsible manner.

On the one hand, maximising company's profits can bring some benefits to the society as a whole. First, the higher profit earned by enterprises, the more taxes they pay to the government. As a result, authorities may have more funds to invest in key fields, such as education and health care, which leads to the improvement in the quality of life of the whole community. Second, by earning huge profits, companies have the opportunities to expand their business. For instance, firms could use their capital to expand their production creating new jobs to the society.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why businesses should also pay more attention to conduct social responsibility activities. The first reason is that business activities can have effects on the environment. Without control, production process may result in serious environmental degradation, such as global warming stemming from excessive factory emmision or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. Another reason is that enterprises shoud help those who are less fortunate, since they have no money to do so. For example, big corporations in Vietnam as Unilever and Vinamilk have strengthened their image in public through humanitarian actions, such as giving donations to charitable organizations or providing scholarships.

In conclusion, although making money is the fundamental principle of business, I would argue that all businesses should reflect upon their social responsibility.