Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With economic development, railways has lost its popularity now-a-days. Some opine that ruling bodies should give preference to railways for investing money that roads. In my opinion the government should equally invest in both.

Rail lines were a popular means of transportation in past, when people had little money on them. Some think that government can bring a change in this trend by investing in this means. More usage of rails will cause less amount of polltion.Thus benefiting the environment. Since it can carry bulk of people to longer distance from one place to another in one go. In addition, less expenses will be utilized to expand this means of transport which further can be distributed for other social causes like sanitation, education etc. As far as expenses are concerned general public will need to spend less money for reaching their destinations.

On the other hand,road systems are also required for intracity connections. These need to be in good place for easy movement of public as well as private vehicles. As damaged roads lead to accidents very often which is even more dangerous. Although, more the number of roads,more will be the number of vehicles running on them. Hence the negative impact on environment ,yet, these also require attention. Since roads are advantageous for reaching somewhere on time within shorter distance.

Since, both modes of transport have their importance and its government 's responsibility for the development of the nation. Therefore, funds should be equally allocated for both means of transportation.