Some people claim that not enough of waste from homes is recycled. They say that only way to increase recycling is for governments to mke it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.?

With the exponential growth of the population; the amount of waste produced is also on rise. For which few say that expected amount of hosusehold waste is not recycled and the only resolute to it is, making recycling a legal law. This essay will discuss how it is the responsibility of both the ruling body as well as the people and only implementing the regulations will not help.

Although, its States duty, to dispose off the waste but the segregation of waste - into recyclable and non-recyclable is the mere work to be performed at consumers end. This will in turn lead to easy disposal. A good example of this is people of National Capital of India are separately dumping off their waste products into different colored dustbins - where black is for dry and recyclable products and red is for wet and non-recyclable. This was possible after various awareness campaigns held by the government and people together.

On the other hand, the ruling body cannot wave off, from the important role they play in this. Its governments responsibility to warn their citizens of the hazardous effects of undisposed waste and hence encourage them to take part in the drive. Nevertheless, even after this, for some who do not commit to this, rules should be made, to make them abide by it. All this will prove to be beneficial as recyclable waste can be used as fossil fuels in near future and thus waste can be reduced. As for an example, the government of Malaysia has strict rules for waste disposal and penalties for the disobeyers.

Thus, its not only the States genre requiring action but, somehow responsibility of the people as well to segregate and dispose off waste products. Hence, strict laws along with the awareness of the citizens is of utmost importance.