the government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizen's health rather than protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that people in this contemporary era are confronting with various problems which seem negatively affect to human's life. Some people argue that medical research should be paid more attention to by the government rather than environmental protection. From my perspective, I consider both issues require government concern simultaneously because of their urgent.

On the one hand, citizen's health is considered as the root of a country's development. There is no question that the medical system has to be put on the top priority in each government. Spending revenue for improving healthcare facilities, enhancing the quality of examination and treatment, etc, to ensure resident's health is in need. Those are likely more necessary in the pandemic when people are fighting for their life day by day. If the government negligent, there is no vaccine studies that conquer the pandemic and bring people back to their normal welfare.

On the other hand, because of the terrific speed of industry and modernization, there are a lot of environmental issues such as global warming, greenhouse effect, deforestation, etc. Residents are facing tremendous consequences which affect their life in many aspects. It seems that the government should spend money on tackling these problems before they become desperate.

To recapitulate, both medicine and environment are in need of the government's concern to ensure resident's life. However, I reckon that those are not only the authority's responsibility, but each person also has the obligation for their health and the surroundings.