Governments in major cities around the world spend enormous expenditure for restoration of old buildings. This money should be used for providing new housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree.

Preservation of old buildings forces metropolitan authorities to spend tremendous financial resources. Some individuals suggest that this source of investment should be allocated to the construction of new houses and streets. Personally, I disagree with the notion because old buildings are of significant importance. Thus, there should be two flows of money to invest in both categories.

On the one hand, old buildings play an essential role in the urban settings. In fact, as they were constructed a long time ago, they would possess some unique architectural features in their structures and interior landscapes that no modern-built complexes could have. Therefore, governments must allocate resources to restore them in order to maintain their cultural values. Besides, these special details make them lucrative tourist attractions that should not be missed by visitors. The given explanations justify the reason that old buildings are worthy of the allotment of money.

On the other hand, new plans to develop the housing and roads are critical to counter the transformation in cosmopolitan areas’ population. In fact, following the globalization and the development of technology, there is a huge surge in migration patterns, resulting in an influx of rural people to large cities. Therefore, more buildings are necessary to facilitate the need of people for accommodation. Also, this phenomenon requires more roads to make it easier for commuting and traveling. In addition, coupling with the large numbers of people decided to live in cities is the financial resources that they generate, so governments should collect money to develop new housing and road schemes in the form of tax and toll.

To conclude, despite the government's practice of allocating money to preserve old buildings, I endorse the hypothesis that there should be separated sources to help develop them simultaneously.