It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that allocating public money for encouraging a healthy lifestyle to prevent illness is more beneficial than for the treatment of illnesses. Personally, I partly agree with the notion as both a healthy lifestyle and treatment are important for the well-being of citizens.

On the one hand, a healthy lifestyle can improve people’s resistance to certain diseases. Specifically, a healthy lifestyle requires people to engage in more physical movements, adopt a balanced diet, and omits different types of harmful habits. In this way, the metabolism and immune system (enhance the effectiveness) in their body become stronger and are able to hinder the development of certain illnesses. Therefore, it is essential to spend financial resources on raising people’s awareness about a healthy lifestyle.

On the other hand, public money should also be spent on the treatment of ill people. In fact, there are many hereditary diseases that can not be prevented by adopting a healthy lifestyle. Besides, mental problems which may occur as a result of excessive workload or hectic study schedule are becoming ever-increasingly prevalent among individuals nowadays. Consequently, treatment of such illnesses is significant for the well-being of citizens, leading to the need to allocate public resources to tackle the suffering.

To conclude, despite debatable schools of thought on determining how public money can be spent, I endorse the hypothesis that the governments should grant financial resources to preventative measures and illness treatment. While encouraging a healthy lifestyle can hinder the development of numerous diseases, treatment can cure illnesses that are inevitable.