Governments in major cities around the world spend enormous expenditure for restoration of old buildings. This money should be used for providing new housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree.

Preservation of old buildings requires metropolitans authorities to spend tremendous financial resources. Some individuals suggest that this source of investment should be allocated to the construction of new houses and streets. Personally, I agree with the notion because humans and society would experience different levels of advantages.

On the one hand, old buildings are no longer useful in urban settings. Specifically, as they were constructed a long time ago, they would fail to adopt the use of cutting-edge technology. As a result, these buildings do not possess the sophisticated and updated features in their structures and internal systems, leading to the inability to utilize natural resources such as light or wind, which will be a major demerit in the comparison with newly-built complexes. All in all, in the era of ever-increasing climate change, this type of buildings is not suitable for the demanding needs of modern people to be exploited, making them unworthy of restoration.

On the other hand, new plans to develop the housing and roads are critical to counter the transformation in cosmopolitan areas’ population. In fact, following the globalization and the development of technology, there is a huge surge in migration patterns, resulting in an influx of rural citizens to large cities. Therefore, more buildings are necessary to facilitate the need of people for accommodation. Also, this phenomenon requires more roads to make it easier for commuting and traveling. In addition, since the demolishing of old buildings is compulsory to provide space for the development of new houses and roads, it is essential to eliminate the demand for money to preserve the buildings. Consequently, these resources could be allocated to construct the houses and roads.

To conclude, despite the government's practice of allocating money to restore old buildings, I endorse the hypothesis that it should be invested in developing new houses and roads.