Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years, whether public sectors or private ones should be responsible for the advancement of sciences has sparked a heated debate. While some people argue that the former should be in charge of the task, other people object to the argument. I personally believe, however, that it would depend on the discipline.

On the one hand, it is preferable that governments take responsibility for the improvement of some specific scientific fields like humanities. It is difficult for such fields to gain research funds from commercial organisations because these fields hardly deliver financial benefit. In Japan, for example, the number of research funds established by private sectors for humanities is far less than the one for natural sciences. If public sectors as represented by governments do not financially aid to these disciplines, they will perish sooner or later. Indeed, in some countries, it is reported that the number of faculty of humanities is especially decreasing compared to the other faculties because of the shortage of funds.

On the other hand, commercial organisations should be responsible for the development of their relevant practical sciences. These organisations usually enjoy some sort of benefit from the disciplines in one way or another; technology and knowledge as the research outcomes of these fields are indispensable for the prosperity of private companies. One of the best examples of this is pharmaceutical industry. Today, most part of their profit heavily relies upon drug discovery efforts conducted by pharmaceutical colleges around the world. Therefore, it is very natural that private sectors provide research budgets for practical sciences. This is also evidenced in a today’s movement in which a number of enterprises are embarking on financial backing for their related fields as a kind of pro bono activities.

In conclusion, the answer to the question whether governments or commercial organisations are responsible for scientific researches would be contingent on the scientific field.