Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Why?

Nowadays, amid mounting concern about environmental issues, renewable energy resources like solar, wind or water power are attracting more attention than ever before. Although it is still somewhat questionable as to whether these types of energy resources are sustainable or not in the true sense, I personally believe that such a trend would be generally a positive development.

There is no doubt that there are a number of disadvantages with traditional major energy sources. It has been a long time since the possibility of fossil fuels like coal or petroleum being depleted in the near future was pointed out. The scarcity of oil resources can sometimes trigger wars and armed conflicts, as evidenced by the Gulf War in 1911 and the Iraq War from 2003 to 2011. In addition, it has been known for a long time that global warming caused by the use of fossil fuels has caused extreme weather, resulting in a great negative impact on people's lives. In this respect, the advantages of alternative energy are seemingly apparent. In other words, the energy source is virtually inexhaustible, and in addition, the environmental load is much lower than that of conventional energy.

That being said, it goes without saying that renewable energy is by no means innocent. For example, increased temperatures around solar power generation facilities have been reported, which leads to deterioration in the living environment of local residents. Landscape destruction by alternative energy power generation facilities is also a major problem. Because of these problems, the number of legal disputes between power companies and local residents over the construction of renewable energy power generation facilities has recently increased. Nevertheless, the fact remains that renewable energy is the most promising alternative at the moment.

In conclusion, although it should be recognised that renewable energy can also have some drawbacks, in order to overcome the problem of conventional energy, increasing dependence on such alternative energy is a desirable change.