Governments should make more effort to promote alternative sources of energy.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

At present, humans’ energy consumption has been increasing at an alarming rate. Some argue that governments should further promulgate the use of renewable sources of energy. The writer of this essay unequivocally agrees due to the gradual decline of our energy reserves and its detrimental effects on our environment.

Around 500 million years, there is a rich source of fossil fuel and has been the major source of energy of the human race until now, from heating our home, lighting the streets and fuelling up our cars and different engines. According to a recent study, 85% of the world’s population is dependent on coil, oil and natural gas. However, no matter how abundant the supply of fossil fuels, we cannot ignore the fact that these energy sources are non-renewable and will soon be depleted. In fact, no one can exactly tell when the supply will exactly run out. Some say in 50 years, some predict in 100 to 120 years while according to the US Energy department, our supply can reach up to early 22nd century if the demand will not increase. Moreover, there is a gradual increase in demand for energy due to the rise of the population around the world. Using alternative sources of energy can suffice to the demand for energy consumption in the future. For instance, according to the European government, the use of solar energy can provide energy for 1 billion in 2020. Hence, it is the governments’ responsibility to seek alternative sources of energy to make sure that countries will not experience blackout or lack of oil and natural gas supply.

Furthermore, the continuous use of fossil fuels has been one of the causes of global warming. Burning of coils add up to the carbon dioxide on the atmosphere and digging up of oil reservoir in the depths of the ocean causes harm on different marine species due to oil spills. Using renewable sources of energy can help lessen the pollution from these fossil fuel source. For example, hybrid cars that are powered by solar panels decrease carbon dioxide emission which decreases air pollution and lessen oil consumption.

In conclusion, the government should make a move to develop the use of alternative energy sources to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels and decrease its harmful effects on the environment.