Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that more budgets should be allocated to railways than roads by governments. This essay totally agrees with this view due to the fact that railroads are better modes of transportation than roads.

Initially, railroads could help people save a lot of time compared to roads. Particularly, trains may achieve speeds up to hundreds km/h not only because of how tracks are engineered but also they can not be stuck in traffic jams like road vehicles. A staff, therefore, may get to his or her workplace without wasting time waiting for a bus or a taxi or in traffic congestion. Moreover, spending money on railways could be more efficient because of the large capacity of trains compared to that of all kinds of road transportation. In more detail, with the same amount of money, the governments can invest in a train that has more seats for passengers than lots of public transport. For instance, a train is configured for around 3000 to 4000 passengers, while there will need about 300 buses to carry this number of people. Clearly, allocating a budget to railways would bring a great deal of advantages for not only residents but also governments.

However, some people still claim that officials should not spend money on railways rather than roads because they are not as safe as roads. They may believe that there is a high risk of accidents when travelling by train. But I argue that the number of accidents happening in railroads are fewer than that of roads. To be specific, each train is controlled by experienced drivers who were trained for every scenario and there is a traffic light system to make sure trains do not collide.; this makes railways the safest mode. It seems that investing money in railroads could reduce the number of traffic accidents which often occur on roads.

To conclude, although some people think that governments should not spend money on railways as much as roads, I personally believe this view is not right since many benefits are offered when more budgets are allocated to railroads.