Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, it is argued that one of the most essential subjects should be taught at school is History, while many people believe that some fields such as Science and Technology are more vital. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that all subjects have an equal role in education.

On the one hand, I believe that people could not deny the importance of History due to its values. To be specific, learning this subject helps students have a better understanding of their culture. For example, all Vietnamese students are taught about not only their language but also its root which has been passed on for many years. Furthermore, the old could use history to increase the national pride of the young generation. Particularly, students would be proud of their ancestors who fought for their country or united to overcome all impediments. Vietnamese residents can be proud of how their predecessors won in a large number of wars to preserve the country from enemies. Clearly, history occupies a crucial position in the training program.

On the other hand, I think the contribution of some subjects like Science or Technology is equally important. Advances in these fields give people chances to broaden their knowledge in a fast and convenient way. In other words, people have several tools such as digital applications or softwares to learn about different countries without visiting them. For instance, a Korean citizen could look for information about England on the internet or take an English online course while not having to go abroad. Moreover, science and technology contribute to saving humans from diseases. In more detail, knowledge in these subjects is necessary for researchers to invent sorts of cures for treatment. Take the Covid-19 pandemic as an example, the invention of its vaccine has helped to reduce the number of patients in the world. It seems that learning about science and technology can not be neglected at all.

To sum up, although some people still doubt the roles of some subjects in education, I personally believe that all of those have the same importance to people. While history teaches about a country’s values, science and technology could help to increase the humans’ life quality.