Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that the death penalty is necessary since it helps to increase the level or security as well as reducing violent crimes in a country. I personally disapprove of this statement because of some main reasons.

To begin with, executing prisoners may encourage revenge which leads to a violent culture. Particularly, giving criminals a capital punishment would deliver a message to victims’ family and others that they should pay a heavy price instead of being reformed. In some cases, after being released from a prison, the criminal is murdered by one of victims’ family members. This person who suffers from the death of their loved one now becomes a killer. Clearly, this fine could not tackle the root of the problem.

Despite this consequence, some people still claim that the death penalty is important as it is useful to decrease the number of violent crimes as well as offences. However, I strongly believe that its role is not as crucial as they argue since numerous countries in the world could maintain a low rate of crimes even though they do not apply this measure. Take Sweden as an example, this nation does not approve the death penalty because they believe prisoners could rehabilitate and they should be given a chance to change. As a result, the number of people committing crime has dropped significantly. In contrast, although China uses the capital punishment for many criminals, it has not successfully increased the level of security. It seems that citizens in countries that death penalty is not applied may feel more secure due to a decrease in violent prisoners.

In conclusion, I disagree with the opinion that capital punishment is essential as it could create a violent culture where people are encouraged to revenge as well as this method would not solve efficiently the origin of problems and reduce crime rate.