Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some hold the opinion that government authorities should allocate funds on operating trains instead of roadway transportation. I partially agree with this statement as railway can transport maximum people and even cargos, and offers cheaper modes of transportation. Likewise, roads provide access to every shorter-distance region where railway is not possible.

Investment in railways seems to be expensive, however, in long run it is far more beneficial. This mode not only provides faster approach to transportation but also is cheaper. Having capacity to hold greater number of people and cargo, it equips people and even business to expand in their services, which results in balanced development of a nation. For instance, if not for trains, India - having highest rail network would not be able to speed up its development in this shorter span of time..

Similarly, roadway also has its own importance without which there would not be access to transportation where railway could not be constructed. It is not even possible to connect every house with rall networks, for this roadways would be major source of transportation. So, short distance travelling that requires frequent movement must be covered by roadways. Feasible access to roadways also develops every corner because with this medium other developmental of infrastructures is possible.

To conclude, railway is faster and is reliably cheaper to transfer people and product, whereas, roadway can provide access to every corner where trains lack services, I believe, governments should balance the investment n these networks as they have unique and are more important in the development of any region.