Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, governments are struggling to find the best way of public transportation. According to some, the authorities should allocate more money for roads than railroads, as this will cost less and the majority of population use roads more frequently on a daily basis. And there may be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that the money ought to be spent on railways, since they are faster and more environmentally friendly.

Spending resources on railroads construction will enable people to save more time while traveling. By giving money to build new railways, numerous advanced trains that can develop high speed will be introduced to the public. In the modern world, more and more people are facing the problem of traveling from one place to another, and this process can be very time-consuming. it is hard to deny that people greatly value their time. Therefore, having access to fast trains might be the best solution to this issue.

another positive effect of opening more rail lines will be seen within the environment. For many years transportation has caused huge damage to nature. In many megapolises the air is very polluted and it is difficult to breathe. However, various studies have indicated that trains have lower amount of emissions than other forms of vehicles. Moreover, the pollutants produced by trains contain less harmful elements than the ones produced by buses and cars. Thus, financing railways construction will be beneficial for the environment as well.

In conclusion, it was shown that the government should invest money for building new rail lines, as the population will be able to save time and this will have a positive impact on nature. Though some believe that roads must be emphasized, since this is economically feasible and more people will benefit.