Governments Should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the government should finance railways instead of investing in roads. I mostly disagree with this opinion. To my mind, nowadays moving by car is the most popular mode of transport so authorities need to invest money in roads initially but also take into account the development of railways.

On the one hand, governments should spend the large part of their budget on the improvements of roads. Now more and more people are using cars for moving and as a result more cars are being produced on factories. Increase in a number of automobiles leads to the rise of traffic congestion. Consequently, people face a problem that they cannot easily and quickly get to work, home or other locations. So to overcome these difficulties the government has to improve the quality and the quantity of roads. In other words, it is necessary to expand the existed roads and build new ones, especially in the most overpopulated urban areas.

On the other hand, investment in the development of railways is also required. If country is big, only the network of roads will not be enough in order to provide an opportunity to get freely from the one end of country to another. So authorities must put a lot of efforts and money into the creation of transport network, which will include railways as well as roads, around the whole country to connect remote areas.

To sum up, although I agree that it is important to spend money on the improvements of railways, I believe that main funding should be done on the construction of roads since the amount of traffic jams is increasing.