Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said by many that the authorities should allocate more funds for the railway system than for roads. Though I understand developing rail transport is important, I think that it is unreasonable to disregard the importance of roads.

On the one hand, It is true that the development of rail lines brings many advantages. For example, if high-speed rails are more commonly installed and used for public transportation, it is likely that the number of private cars will considerably decrease, hence improving the traffic situation. Plus, with impressive speed and high-quality facilities, the express train system provides faster and better travelling experiences to customers. Though the railway system has expensive initial installation cost, its benefits are long-term.

On the other hand, I believe that the significance of roads should not be disregarded for several reasons. It is reported that there have been more accidents occurring on roads than in railway transport. Therefore, ignoring to improve road safety would definitely lead to a significant rise in the number of deaths related to traffic. Plus, as roads are more frequently used, not making an effort to improve road facilities would cause a lot of inconvenience to citizens. From a larger perspective, this would also be partially responsible for the imbalance in the development of traffic infrastructure as rail lines are considerably more developed.

In conclusion, though I do not deny the fact that the investment in rail lines has great benefits, I disagree that railway transport is prioritized over roads. In my opinion, the government should fund the railway and road systems equally.