Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people say that the government should focus on upgrading rail systems instead of roads. In my opinion, I think that although railways can be a very efficient means of transport, roads and highways should be taken care more seriously because road transportation is the quickest and the most common traffic system.

Road traffic has a very crucial role in the daily life because people travel to work and back using road transportation facilities every day. Both public transports like bus and private transports devices use road when they are commuting. If the roads are in bad conditions, not only will they be a big inconvenience, but also, they can cause major traffic accidents. Therefore, in order to create a safe commute experience for the citizens, the authorities should constantly maintain the road transport facilities.

Another thing is that not many cities can provide enough space or money for big construction projects like railroads. Additionally, it also requires skillful workers and many professional in the project to successfully build rail systems, especially the underground ones like subways. As governments need to take these factors in to account when using their budgets, in the case of developing countries for instant, it is obviously a reasonable choice if they choose to spend money on roads.

In conclusion, though railways is undoubtedly a fast and eco-friendly way to commute, roads still have an irreplaceable role in the people's lives, which is the reason why government should pay attention to the roads conditions and make sure they are nice and safe for their citizens.