Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, overpopulation and road congestion is a major problems of almost all developing country, including Vietnam. Some people suggest that we should spend more money on railways than on road to solve this problems, but I strongly opposed this opinion because of it’s possibility.

In fact, there are 4 main factors that form the quality of the rail transportation: the condition of the infrastructure, the merit of the vehicle, the superiority of the service, and the most important thing is the control of private company, however, all of these elements are disappointed and the likelihood to solve these problems in the near future is once time in the blue moon.

First of all, it’s clear that nearly all government of developing country are still struggling with the quality of the infrastructure of the railway transportation. In fact, most of these track are mature and in many aspects, it’s insanely sluggish and dangerous, so it’s cost much time and surely, it’s not the best option for most customers. In addition, the train cannot built in the urban area, for two reason. First and foremost, clearly the train in the city will be very noisy, so it will unexpectedly create noise pollution. The next reason is the capacity for the construction. In order to construct a massive structure as a train route in the city, they need to clear variety of building, which cost an amount of money. And the final reason is if you build a train ways in the city, it will directly compete with traditional bus, which is an poor idea. Moreover, near those gas stations, it’s lack of fundamental service, such as big supermarket or the wait room, so it’s akward for both foreign and domestic travellers. For all of those reason, I think hardly no investors will be ready to risk a lot of money to fix the remaining problems.

The second reason that prevent investors from renewing the railways is the age of vehicles, which is a major obstacles. In the comparison to developed country such as Japan, China or Russia, their’s train was insanely speedy, about 10 times faster than most of train in Vietnam. Indeed, because the train of Vietnam was nearly at the end of its lifetime, it’s very noisy and vibration, which effect hardly to my experience on that journey. On the other side, the trains in Japan are quiet and peaceful in it’s cabin, so the trip will be so relax and comfortable. In dead, to develop such an excellent train as Japan or China, it costs a lot of both time and money, and I believe that not many investors were patient enough to cycle back their funds. For those reasons, the train in Vietnam will be guests picky, and of course, no investors will be interested in this construct anymore because of its price.

The third obstacles that every investor had to thinking about is the quality of the service on the train. It’s cant be disposed that the standard of service on the train has been boosted magically for the past 20 years, but still, it’s still not enough if you compared to the service economy seat or the business class at the same prices. In order to enhance the service on the train, for sure, it will cost such a long time, money and even humans. Clearly, no body will risk such an amount of money for that risky business.

The last obstacle, and the biggest one, is the control of railway business of the government. If the train system was fully operated on the state budget exclusively, there will be no rivalry between the private firm and the government, which will anticipate the thrive of the train industry. In deed, it will be such a waste if we cease the movement of railway industry, especially it’s a billion commerce. The question is, who will dare to compensate millions to get profits after 50, or even 100 years?

In conclusion, the development of the train is still not sturdy enough to convince the investors to join in this billions business. In my opinion, government should spends money on roads more than on railways because of its potentiality.