Governments spend millions of dollars each year on their space programmes. Most recently, Mars is the focus of scientists’ attention. Some people think this money would be better spent on dealing with problems closer to home. Do you agree or disagree?

From my point view, the way that governments spend financial resources always explodes many controversies . Some people think millions of dollars each year spending on space programs would be used better to deal with problems in our planet. However, I cannot support this statement because of several reasons.

If you concern about social situation, you absolutely know there are a large number of people who do not have enough food and water or die because of polluted,.... But I assert that the governments always try to reduce the consequences of those striking problems. And I think they cannot interrupt space programs to save money for another problems because its researches has many positive impacts on our life.

Firstly, the research about space not only bring interesting information about other planets out of space, but also find out new scientific knowledge about the Earth. The satellites are able to measure the amount of groundwater, therefore scientists can see where the water is running out and give the warnings. Moreover, outer space systems can identify cosmic problems which would lead to serious consequences for our planet. For example, NASA discovered an ozone layer hole which was predicted to cause damage in 2060 - the end of the world. Soon after, they discussed with United Nations Organization about the solutions. So without space research, our home would definitely be in danger.

Secondly, vast space industry is a vital impulse for the global financial affairs. A big project in this aspect can enhance the amount of taxes for the state budget and these financial resources can sustain educational or pension systems.

Thirdly, I think it’s wonderful that scientists would find a new planet to move in in the future. Our Earth is getting overcrowded and face with many problems such as out of resources, polluted, waste accumulation underground,... Because of that, I think we need a new place to start a better life.

In conclusion, despite the urgency of social issues, I think we shouldn’t discontinue space programs. I also believe that the governments have the effective plans to spend financial resources.