The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lesson in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Within society, there is a growing problem in regards to obesity. Factors such as technological advancements within the transport system and the use of apps have strongly facilitated a sedentary lifestyle, in a like manner, recent studies have shown the dramatic impact physical education can have on society, in particular, information children receive at school can directly affect their behaviour in their adult lives and help them avoid possible health issues, such as obesity, in the future.

Physical education lessons are not mandatory within school in the United Kingdom. This allows children to avoid gaining the essential knowledge required to live a balanced lifestyle. They are uninformed in their youth which can become a problem in their adult life as an uneducated person cannot make the right decisions on their diet. Thus lead to weight-related diseases, such as diabetes and hypertension that, in the majority of cases, are self-inflicted. This unfortunately has a domino effect on the health-care system, increasing waiting-lists and hospitals become under-staffed which is unfair to patients with hereditary conditions.

If children were given the opportunity to acquire the essential information on health, they would learn about the positive effects it can have on their mental health as a result of the endorphins produced by their body. Furthermore it will become a part of their routine, as they get older it will enjoy sports and continue with it. Future generations are more likely to follow suit as they become parents they will be able to educate their children and provide nutritious meals and have activity be part of their lives, hence gradually relieving the strain from the NHS over the next few decades.

The classes children receive at school can directly affect their behaviour in their adult lives and help them avoid possible health issues, such as obesity. In addition this would be a catalyst in decreasing obesity nation wide and reducing the overwhelming pressure on the healthcare system.