The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is no doubt that excessive consumerism results from imaginary need of purchasers, however, this situation might be caused by other factors. First, since the coverage of attractive advertisements becomes ubiquitous, buyers are prone to making a purchase right away without any aware of the real need. In fact, the rampant use of pull strategy such as price discount, buy one get one free has literally driven the unnecessary demand, which in turn leads to a redundancy shopping habit. Second, in order to adapt to higher standard of living the trend of buying beyond demand with an aim of improving the increase in consuming is essential. For example, consumers currently get used to buying clean and healthy food in lieu of the custom of solely care for sufficient amount, which clarifies the incentive of buying excessively popular products.

In short, although in one way exaggerate advertisings do induce customers to overbought, some other effects need to be taken into account thoroughly. By considering all the pros and cons carefully before making a decision to purchase for something, buyers might reap plenty of benefits through advertisement.