Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that driverless vehicles are likely to be produced in the later stage of life, which changes the traditional driving method. From my perspective, demerits of this revoluntionary development tend to outweigh its merits.

On the on hand, vehicles driven by computers are said to contribute to alleviating the substantial number of accidents. Plenty of road accidents have been caused due to behaviors of the human. A typical example of this is that a drunken driver, who is barely able to control awareness, usually runs a red light, and therefore injuring himself and putting others’s lives at risk. With driverless vehicles being produced later in life, advanced technology will detect the surrounding environment, and it can avoid collisions with other transports without being affected by alcoho, reducing the annual number of accidents.

On the other hand, such a novel development would pose a detrimental threat to the environment. Computer-based vehicles made with high-quality technology will attract millions of consumers, especially technology addicts, and this trend could increase the production of innovative cars drastically. Thus, numerous personal vehicles will travel on roads and they tend to be the main means of daily commute in cosmopolitan metropolis. If there is such a considerable number of cars in big cities, the carbon footprint discharged from these high-tech transports will increase global warming, driving natural species including human beings to the brink of extintion. The disadvantage of this progression, from an environmental perspective, prevails over its benefit.

In conclusion, although driverless vehicles reduce the number of accidents, natural habitats and all species living on Earth would deal with the threat of environment destruction.