The high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisements are the popular way of marketing. They are proved to be a successful way of increasing sales. However, some people argue that advertisements influence people to purchase unnecessary things. I agree with this statement upto some extent.

Apparently, it is true that advertisements are designed in such a way so that it could win million of hearts. First of all, they highlight the merits of a product and hide its demerits. Secondly, they hire celebrities to represent their product. Since, people follow their role models thus they easily tend to buy products denoted by these celebrities.

However, people are well aware of inflation and thus they do consider their requirements before purchasing anything. Moreover due to technological advancements people have become smart consumers, that is they check reviews from internet and other sources before buying a product.

In retrospection, i can say advertisements do influence the choice of people and at the sane time it increases the sales of a product. But nowadays people have become smart consumers and they consider many things before buying anything.