High stakes English language test, such as the IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer.

Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of technology, an increasingly higher number of tests are now available on computers. This essay will discuss about the advantages and disadvantages related to computer-based testing. In regards to the advantages, it is clear that individuals do not put much effort in evaluating tests as they used to in the past.

With the arrival of computer-based testing the only thing the examiner needs to do is setting the machine. Not only for the IELTS but also for other tests, such as the driving licence theoretical exam, the use of electronic equipment has sharply helped a lot of people. For instance, being a computer-based test it means that it is a much faster system when it comes to check the results. Another particular advantage comes from its detecting-error lent which admittedly has an error threshold of about 0,1%, thus being an always precise system.

On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages. First and foremost, in order to be clearly assessed by the computer, people need to have a neet hand writing. In case they have given the right answer but not properly written, it will be considered as a mistake, that is why the majority of computer-based tests are true/false or yes/no. Also, all electronic equipments might break and most of the times repair them could be quite expensive. Furthermore, a lot of computers, specially the ones with the first versions of Windows are often old machines and when it comes to correcting a test the whole process could take long time, resulting in delaying a large number of other test evaluations.

To conclude, this essay has discussed about the advantages and drawbacks of computer-based testing. Although there are some disadvantages, I strongly believe that the advantages largely exceed the drawbacks.