Human activities have negative effects on plants and animal species. Some people think that it is too late to do anything about this problem. Other people believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Fauna and flora are being destroyed by human activities. Some pessimists say the damage is irreversible, while the optimists believe many effective measures can be taken to better the ecosystem. In my opinion, there are many things we can do to repair the damage, but we have to start as soon as possible before many animals and plants go extinct.

On the one hand, the animals and plants species are endangered because of the negative effect of human activities. That is to say, many people cut down trees to clean the land for agriculture, grazing and timber and may not perceive the permanent damage. As a consequence, the wild flowers and plants tend to disappear and wild animals can lose both the food sources and their homes where there is a favourable environment for them to live. Hence, these animals become endangered, or even encounter extinction.

On the other hand, the natural habitats can be restored by the effort of the community. Governments are trying to come up with efficient measures that can protect and preserve the most sensitive area. They pass laws to encourage afforestation, and make deforestation become an illegal action. There are, for instance, a large number of campaigns about reforesting the land and some people can be arrested for their actions which harm the environment. Since the forests are relieved, the ecosystem can be returned to its original pristine condition. Moreover, the fauna can be protected because they can live in the suitable habitat.

All in all, we have done permanent damage to the environment and animals now are suffering from negative effects. However, it is possible for us to modify the situation if we make an extreme effort.