Human beings are being judged according to their social status and material possession. Old fashioned values such as kindness and trust seems no longer important. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (350 words)

The debate over which parameters are being utilized to make judgments about people’s worth and value has been around for sometimes, with renewed interest in whether time-honored values, such as generosity and trustworthiness pale into insignificance in the light of materialism and social hierarchy. While I believe that social hierarchy and material wealth are inaccurate parameters of someone else to some extent, I opine that there are some people who are reasonably envied and admired given their high social rank and material wealth, as will be mentioned in the essay.

Granted, one might argue that materialistic values and social status are the new symbol of personal worth. This is predicated on the assumption that most celebrities today are admired and extolled solely by the colossal amount of money they earn and their far-reaching influence they bear on the society. However, given the complacency they are entangled into as a result of having such enormous material wealth, these celebrities are often swayed into a dissolute lifestyle, turning their backs on their friends, overindulging alcohols and even womanizing. Take Mason Greenwood as an example. Being a football prodigy at a tender age of 19 and being acclaimed all over the globe for his football talent, he subsequently was enmeshed in dissolute activities, such as kerb-crawling and alcohol overconsumption, which later pay a heavy price to his career. Materialism and social ranking, therefore, can never suffice to form a complete and correct impression of others and people still hinge on people’s manifestation of kindness and trust to perceive their characters.

However, there are some people who are deservedly deemed admirable and enviable although they have enormous material possessions and are high in the societal hierarchy. In fact the admiration and judgment based on these factors are not without foundation. To gain a high position in the societal ladder, one undoubtedly must possess a multitude of personal traits such as resilience, patience, unnerving courage and a charitable mind. For example, a leader who could stand out from the rest must develop a sense of courage, perseverance in the face of adversities and hardships. To look for a living example, we can consider the case of Jeff Bezos and Andy Jassy, the CEO of Amazon, the most popular retailing platform on Earth. He once confessed in his autobiography that he has to endured a lot of hardships to reach the heyday of his wealth, from being rejected investment by many companies to the verge of his newborn company’s liquidation. Their hardships taken into account, it is hence comprehensible why people express admiration to such figures.

In conclusion, while I believe that one’s materialistic worth and social hierarchy oftentimes pale in significance when we perceive other people, there is a minority of ones that are commended not by looking at their enormous wealth but by considering the skills and hardships they encounter upon their rise to the top. However, given the fact that most celebrities tend to be complacent about their material assets, time-honored traits such as kindness and honesty should still be valued in today’s society.