“I fear the day when technology will surpass human and we will have a generation of idiots”, said Einstein. Technology nowadays has developed an unimaginable speed while our communication skills have become worse.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Do the advantages of technological development outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, the instantaneous development of technology has drawn public attention in many parts of the world. It is generally believed that such development has worsened humans’ ability to communicate effectively. Personally, I strongly agree with this statement though I hold a strong belief that technological advancement brings more positive changes to the world.

For a variety of reasons, technological development is obviously a threat to humans to some extent. As social media becomes more and more popular, people tend to rely heavily on it for communication thanks to its convenience and time-saving nature. Moreover, online conversations become much more interesting with the introduction of impressive functions, such as video sharing and emoticons. Therefore, netizens are so drawn towards the virtual world that they gradually become addicted and can barely escape from it. Consequently, they bury their heads in social networking sites and cut down on time spent for face-to-face conversations. In other words, the residents of our modern era seem to be better at playing with a qwerty keyboard than delivering a standard confabulation to their neighbours.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, it is undeniable that technology has brought a vast number of benefits to human beings for centuries. Thanks to the advent of the internet, telecommunication has become more and more convenient than ever before. People nowadays can get in touch with their relatives or friends from the other side of the globe just within a click. Such global connection helps facilitate many aspects of life, such as economic growth, international relations and cultural exchange. Another upside of technology is that it helps boost work productivity. As people work on monotonous jobs, such as manual workers in factories, they often experience diminishing of returns. They make increasing mistakes as they keep repeating the works. Artificial intelligence, however, is not subjected to such mistakes as robots can work continuously without feeling tired.