These days, people in some country are living in a "throw-away" society which mean people use things in a short time then throw them away.

What are the causes and problems of this?

In contemporary society, many regions of the world are now witnessing an increase in a “throw-away” lifestyle. The following paper will take a closer look at the roots of this worrying trend as well as examining its influences on the environment and society.

The primary factors associated with this way of life are rapid innovation in technology and corporate greed. Prolific increases in technological developments result in state-of-the-art devices constantly replaced by superior models of them. This urges consumers to update their assets with optimal appliances available. In addition, corporate greed, as mentioned, is also to blame for the proliferation of this lifestyle. Since the ultimate goal of enterprises is to maximize their profit, their products are often integrated with planned obsolescence to make them break down shortly after guarantee expires. This forces consumers to purchase new products because replacing defective parts of a product is often more pricy than buying a new one.

The first victims that witness the consequences of this alarming phenomenon are the environment and society. As people are drawn towards novelty, they have a tendency to replace out-of-date products, some of which are disposed of directly to landfills. This exerts incredibly detrimental influences on the environment because it would often take modern appliances hundreds of years to decompose completely. Additionally, the prevalence of this lifestyle also has profound impacts on society. This destructive path of thinking would make people only want to buy new commodities instead of learning how to fix the breakdowns. In time, this would encourage extravagant buying behaviours among consumers.

Taking everything into consideration, the dissemination of the “throw-away” lifestyle has become every-increasingly perturbing due to rapid technological advancements and the greed of corporations. As a result, enduring decomposition process of thrown-away products will pose huge threats to the environment and frequent replacement of consumer products would stimulate unnecessary buying habits.