Some people believe that in order to give opportunities to new generations companies should encourage high level employees who are older than 55 to retire.

Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that senior employees who are older than 55 should leave their positions so that younger generations can have better employment and promotion opportunities. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, it would be ineffective for a company’s development if their employees take early retirement. Since these personnel become old hands at their works, they have accumulated a massive amount of experience and relevant skills to the fields. However, it may take a lot of time for young people to master their skills and such mastery sometimes sounds impossible for some people. Therefore, encouraging senior workers to retire early can be a waste of grey matter and shows careless plans for human resources.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, it would be better for the employees in terms of both mental and physical health if they are not forced to take early retirement. When the age of retirement is shortened, people tend to be more anxious about their future and how they can make a living after retirement. As a result, they tend to work harder and are willing to work overtime to earn more savings. Such excessive working pressure will definitely have detrimental impacts on their health in a long run as well as increase their levels of stress.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that over-55-year-old employees should not be subjected to early retirement. This decision can be a huge loss to the company and cause anxiety among the labour force.