If people have a chance to choose between living their life without work and spending most of their time on work, most of them could choose not to work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When faced with the dilemma of working or not working, a majority of people tend to opt for the latter. While there might be some truth in this statement, I am of the view that work is an essential part of our lives and people cannot rest for so long.

Tendency to relax is inherent to all people, so it would be sensible to argue that most people would choose not to work if there was a chance. For example, most working people are familiar with the feeling of looking forward to going on vacations to different parts of the world and resting at home on weekends, after busy days, weeks and months of work. They feel like leaving all the accumulated workplace stress, arguments with colleagues and daily monotonous tasks behind and relax. In addition to this, statistically, a high percentage of people are dissatisfied with their jobs. Therefore, if there were an opportunity not to work, on condition that everything is provided, they would, by all means, choose not to work.

Nevertheless, I strongly feel that these people should think about the longer term. By doing so, they eventually come to realize that life is not only about relaxation and resting. The recent COVID-19 pandemic, for instance, taught us the value of work, and most of us became bored at home without any meaningful activities and tasks. This implies that work is an indispensable part of our lives, adding meaning and color to it. Another reason why people would choose to work is associated with the feeling of social obligation. If important positions, such as doctors and teachers, are not filled willingly, we are highly likely to experience collapse of civilizations in the long run. Therefore, rational individuals who look into the future when provided with this dilemma will definitely choose to work and contribute to their society positively.

Overall, people might choose not to work when there is a chance to do so. However, when they realize the importance of working and the value it has on their lives, they tend to change their minds about their decisions.