Smacking is the best form of discipline

Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate whether smacking is the best way to educate and train children or not. From my perspective this form of discipline is not practical and produces the worst results. Therefore, parents should bring up their children in a totally different way.

There are a wide range of methods that are used by parents to discipline their youngsters, and beating,punishing and smacking are one of them.In most cases,parents constantly use all these forms of discipline and consider that they are useful and effective.However, children brought up in this kind of environment have a plethora of issues with their both mental and physical health. Children are weak and slight, thus they feel strong pain when they are beaten and smacked.Hence, this form of discipline will not teach them something meaningful, rather just give short term results and a pain in their body.Furthemore,children who experience physical pain caused by their parents who are their loved ones, have problems with their mental health.It can make children less confident,devastate their self esteem and cause various mental disorders such as anxiety, depression or anger. Thus, such drastic measure can only cause harm and prove to be counterproductive in the long run"

Nevertheless, parents can bring up confident adults with strong self esteem and identity,if they use proper methods of discipline.First and foremost, when children misbehave or do inappropriate things whether in public or at home, parents just need to talk to them in a calm and quiet manner, explaining that it is unethical to behave in this way.Also, when youngsters receive a warm hug from their parents,they instantaneously change their bad behavior. Second, parents should control their level of permissiveness, and set clear and consistent roles which their children can follow.They need to explain all of these rules in an age-appropriate terms that a child can understand.In addition, parents are role models for their offspring, therefore they should demonstrate patterns of good behavior, listen to their children and try to understand them as well.

To sum up, in my opinion, smacking produces only short term results, and parents should use other methods of discipline.