If a product is good or it meets people's needs, people will buy it. Advertising is no more than a form of entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that using advertisement has little to no impact on promoting a product on the market as customers purchase when a good quality product satisfies their needs and requirement. In my opinion, I believe that adverts still take on an important role in the sales industry for some reasons.

Indeed, items can be sold easily for its quality and individuals’ needs. For example, people purchase merchandises such as food, bathroom towels or toothbrush from the local market because these products are essential for their daily use. After the first time trying, people will undoubtedly buy the item again if it is great and functional. This shows that common products on the market can have the sales without the assistance from advertisement.

Unfortunately, many products still seriously need advertisement in order to attract customers’ attention. Firstly, newly invented devices which assist people greatly in many aspects in their daily basis such as house-cleaning robot, electric toothbrush and smartphone are still unknown to a large proportion of adults. This slows down the sales of these useful products. Therefore, commercial companies have to step in and make these accessories more appealing to customers by creating eye-catching adverts and massive establishing all means of media. Secondly, since there is a plethora of the same products from multiple manufacturers these days, there is no chance for small companies to compete with bigger ones. Thus, the only solution for these corporations is to seek help from advertisement.

In conclusion, while it is true to say that people buy products for their needs and items’ quality, I believe that the role of advertisement is still undeniable in the competitive sales environment.