The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognized as increasing numbers of species come under threat.

What can be done to maintain biodiversity?

Due to the devastating effects of climate change and overexploitation, an increasing number of species have to face risks of being endangered in few next decades. As a result, many scientists and citizens now are more concerned about the crucial role of biodiversity in the Earth’s ecosystems. This essay will suggest several solutions to improve global biodiversity and preserve animals and plants from extinction.

One possible solution is that the Government should establish more natural conservation areas for wildlife, especially endangered species. By building more barriers around these controlled areas, the protection will be far better and wild animals in turn can prevent themselves from potential external danger. Also, in order to provide better protection to these natural reserves, local councils need to give stiffer punishments to indiscriminate logging, hunting or companies exploiting these areas for industrial use. The appearance of more conservation areas would significantly improve the biodiversity and encourage more varieties to accommodate and reproduce.

Another method is that we should celebrate more environmental events to raise the public’s awareness of protecting the wildlife’s natural habitats in rural areas. These events will encourage society to use environmentally-friendly materials and reduce the amount of household waste. With the help of these celebrations, our society will understand and reduce the devastating impact of pollution on the ecosystems, and we can save more endangered species over the world from environmental contamination.

To conclude, the Government should take immediate action on opening more natural reserves to rescue wildlife and protect their natural habitats by informing citizens about the effect of pollution on their survival.