Important historical objects in museums around the world should be returned to their country of origin. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that historically important objects being showcased in different countries ought to be returned to their country of origin. Personally, I agree with this idea because these items are of significance to their rightful owners in terms of history.

One of the prominent concerns surrounding the return of historical objects to their “homeland” is the absence of proper facilities for preservation. International museums in developed countries, such as London Museum, are known for their high levels of security and preserving capabilities. This is due to the fact these museums are well-funded by the authorities of the wealthy countries, which means the historical relics or structures are not only being constantly monitored but also well-preserved in proper conditions. These challenging tasks could only be done, were there sufficient well-trained staff and qualified preservationists who are often in short supply in less-developed countries.

Despite the aforementioned technological advantages, historical artefacts should be displayed in where they are initially discovered or unearthed. It is self-evident that such objects embody distinctive values of a civilization, so only by possessing them, will the local historians be able to analyze and then re-enact parts of local history which could have been lost due to upheavals such as wars or social unrests. By doing so, later generations can have a better understanding of historical events associated with an artefact, which could be obtained by a few who could afford to travel overseas. Regarding the lack of required preservation techniques, the “hosting” countries should assist the ones of origin in constructing museums with appropriate storage rooms and training local experts, instead of persistently keeping the historical objects in where they are not supposed to be. More importantly, this could promote international ethics between rich countries with the rest.

In conclusion, while these historical objects are safe in internationally acclaimed museums, it is imperative to return them to their country of origin for the benefit of the later generations.