In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but other think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently, there is a phenomenon in some countries that a few percentages take possession of a great share of society’s wealth. Although it is argued such development is beneficial to a country, others believe a maximun wage should be imposed by governments. However, such imposition could effect negative consequences for businesses as high salary is the main attraction of any profitable company.

First and foremost, high remuneration is inherently the key consideration for any talented worker, when applying for a position. Obviously, highly competent employees are the decisive factor in enhancing a business’s competitiveness, as they are able to devise profoundly sound plans or generate ideas, which could be manifested into marketable products. This can be seen in Google where graduates with high qualifications are paid with higher salaries than the average to invent functional applications. Such decision has enabled the company to maintain their leading position in the digital market.

Furthermore, it should be of note that an individual income is commensurate with knowledge and competence. Were a well-qualified employee not to be rewarded with well-deserved benefits and pay raises, it is highly likely the establishment would be impacted by high turnover. Moreover, employees who could not feel their efforts would be remunerated appropriately will be demotivated to contribute more. In combination, these consequences mean the overall productivity of a company will be deteriorated alarmingly. Therefore, instead of introducing a limit on maximum salaries, minimum wages should be raised in accordance with inflation, which could minimize the pay gap between senior executives and low-level workers and in turn, sustain decent living standards.

In conclusion, for a business to survive in an ever-competitive market, it is critically essential to retain capable workforce with competitive salaries, and simultaneously, increasing minimun wages could mitigate not only productivity loss but also inflation effects on employees.