With the improvement in the today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

It is true that the life expectancy of many people all around the world especially in developed countries is on the rise compared to the past. While it can be difficult and challenging for officials to manage the increasing numbers of elderly people, I believe that some solutions can be taken into account to mitigate the impact of ageing population.

Several problems and challenges can be anticipated for growing life expectancy. Firstly, the number of retired people will increase compare to that of working adults. This means that the government in such situation may receive less money in tax. As a result, officials will be forced to put more tax burden on working adults to compensate for state budget especially the pension of elderly people. Secondly, when people grow older and live longer, they can develop more health issues, resulting in more visits to doctors and hospitals and more usage of pharmaceuticals. In such condition, the expenses of healthcare system will increase, as the supply cannot meet the demand. So, if the old people cannot afford their costs, their children might be forced to work harder to support them financially.

However, the problems mentioned above can be solved. To solve the first issue, officials can encourage migration to attract more working adults who can pay tax. This might reduce the additional tax burden on individuals in the host country. The next step can be getting international assistance to increase state budget. Official can use a part of this amount of money to allocate among old people as a financial aid to make ends meet. Also, government can increase the insurance charge which is taken through the salaries but this solution is unpopular and more likely to have some negative consequences, such as workforces strike.

In conclusion, in my view, the increasing number of old people can have some problems. But officials can address all of them by some constructive solutions.