With the increase in global tourism, it has become obvious that there are many advantages and disadvantages that can be found from the effects of tourism.

Do you believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer.

In recent years, thanks to improved transport system and services, we have seen a drastic development in tourism all over the world. To some people, this upward trend would bring numerous positive aspects for the society, while others reject that tourism is currently doing more harm than good. In this essay, I will argue that even though there are still several issues associated with tourism, its development is still beneficial in many ways.

One of the greatest advantages of tourism is that it helps our countries become more well-known to foreigners. With the help of tourism, we can develop our identity and advertise positive sides of our cultures to attract tourists. Furthermore, tourism could create more job opportunities for many citizens, especially unemployed ones. In the long run, they could hugely profit from this sector and then contribute to the government’s revenue and the local economy. These earnings then will be used to improve service provision and travelling experience of tourists, thereby attracting more arrivals to these areas.

However, tourism also leaves several consequences, especially pollution. For example, many environmentalists have reported that travellers have laid an enormous amount of waste in various heritages. This issue not only contributes to the severity of pollution but also damages the beauty of these places. Additionally, due to poor awareness of several tourists, many heritages and varying historical buildings are seriously ruined at an alarming rate. If local councils did not take immediate action on this issue, these buildings would gradually lose their original historical and cultural values and become less attractive to tourists.

To sum up, I believe that despite several issues coming with tourism, this sector is still indispensable and particularly advantageous because of various contributions it makes to the society and economy in general.