The increase of production of consumer goods damages the natural environment. Why is this the case? What can be done to reduce it?

These days, the need to consume goods has significantly increased and has damaged the environment. Various reasons leave behind this tendency, and suggest some solutions associated with negative environmental impacts from improper solid waste dumping and natural resources overexploitation.

Various drivers explain why consumerism can heavily influence the quality of our environment such as constructing plants or releasing the waste without treatment. First and foremost, to produce more goods, people have to clear forests, cut down trees to construct more plants or exploit more natural resources to manufacture. Deforestation has expanded, the natural habitat has been on the verge of extinction, and tons of carbon dioxide was emitted into the air. As a result, the standard of living is low and can affect our health. Furthermore, over-consumption leads to excess products which can not be solved right now and take several years to compose. Also factories can discharge contaminated waste without treatment nearby the household water sources. As a result, this destroys biodiversity and depletes the aquatic ecosystem as contaminated water causes illness and death to fish and other animals.

It seems to me that many effective solutions to the problem of damaging the environment can be invested. Firstly, the authorities should ban strict regulations on illegal activities which cause harm to the quality of the environment, such as assessing the level of emissions of each factory or taking sanctions on companies. Nevertheless, the consumer should buy what they really need in lieu of buying for satisfaction, and use non-biodegradable materials having a short lifespan which are easy to compost or recycle.

In conclusion, the environment is severely impacted by the increase in production of consumer goods. Both individuals and governments should take some actions as soon as possible to alleviate this tendency.