The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In modern days, more and more consumer goods are produced to meet the demands of the society; however, this mass production gradually leads to detrimental impacts on the environment. This issue must be taken into great consideration with practical solutions.

In reality, there is a number of reasons account for why an increase of manufacturing activities can cause environmental degradation. First of all, the more goods are produced, the more natural resources are depleted and more disasters may occur. For example, in Vietnam, to make one of our most used items: paper, 46% trees across the country are chopped down, resulted in severe deforestation. Moreover, hectares of forest lands are cleared with a view to constructing manufacturing factories. As a consequence, there comes flood washing the whole country away. Secondly, the process of producing any single good is sole contributor to pollutions, which affect badly our natural habitat. Factories often dump dirty water, used chemicals and oils, sewage, and cafeteria waste directly into the ground or into the seas, rivers, etc. For instance, Formosa - a manufactory in Vietnam - discharged toxic industrial waste into the ocean through drainage pipes, which polluted the water environment and acutely damaged marine system. Furthermore, smoke from factories can increase greenhouse gases, which lead to global warming. Most alarming, factories’ goods often contain great amount of plastic waste, posing hazardous threat to the environment as it’s non-biodegradable.

The environment is so harshly destroyed by the production of consumer goods that we have to put forward feasible solutions to end the issue. Firstly, the government should restrict the amount of raw materials that each factory needs to manufacture products. Local government area should charge or even imprison those overexploit natural resources such as wood, ore, etc. The charge can be raised higher to put manufacture companies under great pressure of going bankrupt. Secondly, the government should also have strict environment law, which ban factories from dumping unprocessed waste into natural habitat. Factories going against the law stand a chance of living behind bars lifelong. Moreover, factories must be encouraged to use environmentally-friendly materials and disposable packaging that can decompose much more easily than plastic. The government should enforce law on each household, each individual to follow the 3Rs: reduce, reuse and recycle to improve the environment’s situation.

In conclusion, manufacturing an increasing goods can pose significant threats to the environment because of illegal dumping, overexploitation,... To tackle this problem we have to take urgent actions instead of raising our demands to save the environment and save ourselves.