The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The proliferation of consumer goods’ manufacturing processes poses a threat to nature. These damages are mostly the outcome of overexploitation and the release of detrimental waste; however, there are some viable solutions to mitigate this situation.

The environmental degradation resulting from the increased goods production is attributed to two main factors. First, natural resource exploitation required in the processing stages frequently leads to deforestation and habitat loss. When people conduct exactration in specific areas, fauna and flora face a great chance of being destroyed, which interferes with the food chain of some predators, such as herbivores, rendering them unable to seek food resources. Second, merchandised processes’ exhaust fumes may contain detrimental chemicals which can exacerbate the atmosphere and worsen the current climate change and air pollution. Even if the exhaust is properly treated, it also can make a certain contribution to elevated carbon release, intensifying air, land, and water degradation.

To alleviate the environmental impact of consumer goods production, the following steps should be considered. One of these is by launching campaigns so as to promote a more profound understanding and awareness of consumer’s consumption habits. Thus, they may change to opt for eco-friendly products or adopt a sustainable lifestyle such as recycling or consuming products from recycled materials. In tandem with this, the government should impose taxes on factories’ by-products which pose a potential threat to the environment. For example, in Vietnam, some companies conducting processes that entail releasing carbon dioxide or water with harmful elements are being taxed higher than environmentally friendly, green companies.

In conclusion, natural environmental damage, which is the subsequent result of the rapid growth of consumer goods production, results from excessive material extraction and harmful pollutants released to the environment. However, if shopping habits can lean towards sustainability as well as more green taxes need to be envied, the situation can be mitigated.