Today more people are overweight than ever before What in your opinion are the primary causes of this What are the main effects of this epidemic

Nowadays, more and more people are suffering from obesity, which brings them lots of problems. In fact, the obesity problem is basically associated with two different factors and it may have two negative influences on overweight people such as health and social problems. To delve deeply into this issue, this essay will explore the causes of obesity and analyze several effects of this issue.

Admittedly, the problem of obesity is attributed to genetic factors and environmental factors. To begin with, a special gene in DNA is the first factor contributing to obesity. There is some evidence that if there is a family history of obesity, the children in this family will have the dominant or recessive gene which will be overweight easily in the future. In addition, eating habit is another reason why some people are corpulent. For example, if people eat the fast food with lots of sugar and high calorie every day, the fat will be rapidly stored in their bodies, and it will be hard to control that. With more fat being accumulated, obesity will easily happen to those people.

Owing to this disturbing phenomenon, people start to pay more attention to the possible effects of obesity including health problems and social problems. First, obesity gives rise to the risk of heart diseases. For instance, when people are getting fat, the percentage of fat in their blood will increase. After that, their blood will become thick and forms blood clots which will lead to some serious heart diseases. Furthermore, social discrimination is another consequence that obese people usually experience. Since many people have a stereotype of those fat people, they will treat these people differently which can be described as discrimination. In daily life, lots of people like to make jokes about overweight people and it will make them become much more self-abased because of their obesity.

In conclusion, obesity is a complex problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. There is no single cause of obesity, but the genetic factors and the environmental factors are the two main contributors to it. Meanwhile, it can result in health problems and social problems.