With the increasing demand for energy sources such as oil and gas should people be looking for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas

The issue of how to satisfy global demand for non-renewable energy has been a heatedly discussed topic in the recent years, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many people. Some claim that this pressing problem could be solved by seeking oil and gas in untouched places. Personally speaking, I would assert that it is unwise to follow this advice as the drawbacks far outweigh its benefits.

Admittedly, there are two advantages accruing from seeking crude oil in remote places. The immediate one is that this heavy industry can generate employment in local services such as catering business, hospitality industry, public transportation and communication. For example, my hometown used to be a quiet backwater with a high unemployment rate fifty years ago. However, the development of the oil fields not only created a lot of job opportunities but also attracted talented people to work in this once-desolate place. Another benefit is the improvement of the local infrastructure and facilities. For instance, Chongqing did not have many modern buildings a decade ago. After many companies went there to extract oil, the local government constructed many accommodations to house workers, paved many roads and replaced run-down buildings with skyscrapers. However, this does not necessarily mean that there are no disadvantages of extracting oil.

In fact, mining non-renewable resources destroys local environment and triggers wars. First and foremost, this oil industry will release much carbon dioxide and many toxic substances, and Guzangzou is a good example. Its government has been excessively drilling for gas and oil in order to increase its annual revenue, but the negative impacts are irreversible. According to a scientific report, there has been a tremendous increase in the amount of greenhouse gases discharged from oil companies, while lakes and rivers around the oil wells will remain contaminated for long. In addition, looking for oil could intensify the tension among many countries scrambling for fossil fuels. For instance, a lot of wars were caused by the fight for the oil fields in the Middle East, and furthermore, this made many homeless children.

Considering two irreversible problems, I would argue that the drawbacks of extracting fossil fuels surpass the benefits. Although the extraction of oil can improve local buildings and generate more job opportunities, protecting the environment and human safety is always the top priority.