Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on how to cope with the problem of traffic congestion. Some people suggest that government should appropriate more funds for the construction of railways and metro systems. However, others consider road-widening policies a feasible solution to improving traffic flow. In my opinion, building railroads and subway lines can more effectively reduce traffic jams, as opposed to just widening roads.

On the one hand, widening roads is thought of as an effective strategy to increase the capacity of a traffic corridor by adding lanes for vehicles. Take Seoul city for example. With a rapid increase in its population, existing two-lane roads were inadequate to deal with the explosive growth of vehicles, so local residents were plagued by traffic congestion at rush hour. However, the South Korean government implemented a road-widening policy in which trees were felled to make way for multi-lane roads and huge swathes of forests were cleared for highways. Because of this policy, drivers can commute into the city more smoothly now, reaching their destinations in time without being vexed by traffic problems.

On the other hand, constructing rail and subway networks is a better strategy to reduce the number of commuters and private cars or trucks on roads, which in turn contributes to less traffic congestion. For example, Mumbai was notorious for its chaotic traffic, and driving there would be time-consuming and hazardous. The main roads were jammed with cars crawling bumper to bumper. Nevertheless, this problem was addressed by building a new metro system, which carries more passengers and freight. Due to/Because of this new public transportation, there are now fewer road users and traffic problems.

To recapitulate, people have different perspectives on how to alleviate traffic congestion. Some argue that widening roads is the magic pill to alleviate traffic congestion. However, I am more aligned with the idea of building trains and subways to create a congestion-free place on the grounds that the public transportation that stays away from the busy roads people use every day is credited with improving the traffic flow. Although widening roads allows traffic to flow more smoothly, this argument contains a fatal flaw: wider roads might create an incentive for people to drive, thereby worsening traffic. Hence, it is completely reasonable to spend more tax revenues on this public infrastructure.