An increasing number of people are choosing plastic surgery. Why do people want to change the way they look? Is this a positive or negative development?

With the development of information technology, everything in the world develops sharply, even the beauty standard. The number of people who try to catch up with this standard by choosing plastic surgery has increased. Honestly, it is not a good development for people to improve themselves in this way.

Many people keep catching up with beauty standards in their society because they are under social pressure. Living a world where every single person has to compare themself with others and always show off that they are better than others. If someone is different from the existing standard, that person will receive many negative comments. Consequently, the person will choose suicide because they cannot bear those judgements. Moreover, plastic surgery is also a way for people to keep their youth. Most people are scared of being old and having wrinkles on their faces. Hence, people now find plastic surgery as the only option to make them better.

However, this trend can lead to the existence of unrealistic beauty standards and health risks. An increasing number of people choosing plastic surgery as an option will make others in society think that the world now turns out to be more beautiful. Ingtagibly, it creates an unreal mindset about human beauty. Day by day, people tend to discriminate and prejudice other based on their different appearance. In addition, those surgeries cost a lot of money and may come with significant health risks, including infection and bleeding. No doctors can make sure that the surgery will occur without any mistakes. In case of any troubles, patients are not able to blame the doctor because they are the ones who want to carry that plastic surgery.

In conclusion, social pressure and the desire to keep youth are two reasons that people want to improve their outside beauty. However, it contains several drawbacks if this trend of society goes on rising.