In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that people in many nations, currently, have longer lives compared with the previous generations. There are different perspectives about whether the ageing population is beneficial to a nation or not. Personally, for any region, the drawbacks of having more old people than younger ones will be far more than the benefits. This essay will discuss both sides of the problem.

On the one hand, some people believe that there are advantages if the community has more people coming from previous generations. First and foremost, no one can deny that the more time people live, the more knowledge they gain. It is a good strategy for an organisation to have groups of the elderly who play as senior advisors to help make decisions. Since those people accumulated significant knowledge about the world, they may be the ones who directly witnessed the variations of mankind, such as the development of information technology. Moreover, the elderly can act as grandparents who help parents take care of the children so that mothers and fathers can spend all their efforts on their work.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the disadvantages of having too many ageing people in a region will outweigh the advantages. Firstly, people who are out of the golden age can be affected by serious dangerous diseases as their health will not be as good as used to be. This may intangibly create a financial burden on the government as they have to spend more expenditures on healthcare systems. Consequently, the state has to decrease tax levels and increase pension support for the elderly because they do not have adequate ability to work as effectively as the youth. Secondly, this will also decline the number of labourers in the country as this group of society cannot maintain the productivity of the work like the next generations. Consequently, those countries may face a decline in economic growth.

In conclusion, both groups of discussion do have their reasonable supportive ideas. However, I firmly stand on the side of people who think this development will bring more drawbacks compared with the benefits. This is because too many people who are in the elderly population may unintentionally decrease the economy of scale of a nation and create a burden for the state.